Michael Betts

Department of Microbiology, University of Pennsylvania

Frank Brombacher

ICGEB, University of Cape Town

Simon Draper

Blood-Stage Malaria Vaccines Group, Jenner Institute, University of Oxford

Clive Gray

South African Immunology Society President
Prof Clive Gray is Head of Division of Immunology at the University of Cape Town, Institute of Infectious Diseases and Molecular Medicine and Department of Pathology, with a joint appointment to the National Health Laboratory Service. He holds a Faculty positions as an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Immunology, Duke University, North Carolina, USA.

Glenda Gray

President of the South Africa Medical Research Council

Carol Hlela

University of Cape Town

Georg A. Holländer

The Laboratory of Paediatric Immunology, Department of Biomedicine, University of Basel, Switzerland; and The Department of Paediatrics and the Laboratory of Developmental Immunology, Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine, University of Oxford, UK.

Tom Hope

Department of Cell & Molecular Biology, Northwestern University, Chicago

Kondwani Jambo

Malawi-Liverpool-Wellcome Trust CRP, Blantyre, Malawi

Richard Koup

Deputy Director, Vaccine Research Center, National Institutes of Health (NIH), Bethesda, MD

Al Leslie


Tony Moody

Duke Human Vaccine Institute, Duke University Medical Center, Durham

Penny L. Moore

Penny Moore, PhD is an Associate Professor and DST/NRF South African Research Chair of Virus-Host Dynamics at the University of the Witwatersrand and the National Institute for Communicable Diseases in South Africa. Moore holds a joint post as a Research Associate at CAPRISA, University of KwaZulu-Natal. She obtained her MSc at the University of the Witwatersrand, studying gastroenteritis-associated adenoviruses. This was followed by a PhD at the University of London (studying the Hepatitis B virus) in 2003 before returning to South Africa. Her research focuses on HIV broadly neutralizing antibodies, and their interplay with the evolving virus. Moore currently supervises nine graduate students and is funded through the South African MRC, the Department of Science and Technology/National Research Foundation, IAVI and the NIH.

Lynn Morris

Lynn Morris is the head of HIV Virology at the National Institute for Communicable Diseases in Johannesburg and holds a joint appointment as a Research Professor at the University of the Witwatersrand. Her research is focussed on the antibody response to HIV infection for the development of an HIV vaccine and her laboratory is responsible for performing neutralizing antibody assays on human clinical trials. She is an NRF A-rated researcher with an H-index of 52 and is on the 2015 and 2016 ISI list of the world’s most cited researchers.

Elmi Muller

Department of Surgery, University of Cape Town

Susan Musembi

Kenyatta University, Nairobi, Kenya

Henry Mwandumba

Malawi-Liverpool-Wellcome Trust CRP, Blantyre, Malawi

Anna Nowak-Węgrzyn

Anna Nowak-Węgrzyn, M.D., PhD is an associate professor of Pediatrics at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, Department of Pediatrics, Division of Allergy and Immunology. She received her M.D. degree from N. Copernicus Academy of Medicine in Cracow and PhD from University of Warmia and Masuria in Olsztyn, Poland. She completed a 3-year training program in allergy and immunology at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore and joined the Division of Allergy and Immunology and the Jaffe Food Allergy Institute at Mount Sinai. Her research interests focus on egg and milk allergies, food-induced anaphylaxis in children, novel diagnostic and therapeutic approaches to food allergy, oral tolerance development, and in particular food protein-induced enterocolitis syndrome (FPIES). She served as the President of the New York Allergy and Asthma Society in 2010 and has been a member of the Society’s executive committee for the past 16 years. She served as the Chair of the Adverse Reactions to Foods Committee of the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology from 2013-2015 and is the current Secretary of FADDA, AAAAI. She has been recently elected to the American Board of Allergy and Immunology Board of Directors. She is also the chair of the Medical Advisory Board for the International FPIES Organization and has led the international effort to write the first Consensus Guidelines for Diagnosis and Management of FPIES, published in 2017.

Mario Roederer

Senior Investigator, ImmunoTechnology Section, Vaccine Research Center, National Institutes of Health (NIH), Bethesda, MD

Reinhold Schmidt

Hannover Medical School, Department of Immunology and Rheumatology, Germany

Tom Scriba

SATVI, Division of Immunology, University of Cape Town

Melinda Suchard

Dr Melinda Suchard obtained her MBBCh degree from the University of Witwatersrand in 2000 after which she obtained her MMED and FCPath qualifications in clinical pathology. She heads the Centre for Vaccines and Immunology at the National Institute of Communicable Diseases, The Centre provides laboratory based surveillance for polio, measles and hepatitis and serves as an African region WHO reference laboratory. Dr Suchard's research interests include investigation of immunoregulation in vaccinology and improvement of laboratory methods for monitoring T cell immunity. Dr Suchard is the vice president of the South Africa Immunology Society and hopes to see immunology registered as a specialist medical discipline.

Kate Webb

Kate Webb is the Action Medical Research fellow at the University College London (UCL) ARUK Centre for Adolescent Rheumatology. She is also an honorary Paediatric Rheumatologist at the University College London and Great Ormond Street hospitals. She was previously the Discovery Foundation clinical training fellow at Red Cross Children’s Hospital in Paediatric Rheumatology. She is currently investigating how interferon expression and production in immune cells of healthy young people changes with age, sex and pubertal development in a manner that may predispose to the development of jSLE . She has presented this work and others to various international meetings and has contributed to textbook chapters in paediatric rheumatology. She has close links with the UCT Immunology and Paediatric Rheumatology departments.